Media Coverage of Homebirth Crisis in NYC

I’m going to use this post to compile media stories related to the homebirth crisis in NYC. Read more about the situation affecting homebirth midwifery in NYC here. If you find any new stories or blog posts about the situation, please leave links in the comments and I’ll add them to the list!

[last updated May 14, 2010]

I’d love to hear from anyone who is/was planning a homebirth with one of the affected midwives and how you’re moving forward!

In the News

Blogs

  • You can see all of my coverage here, under the tag “homebirth.”

Other

8 responses to “Media Coverage of Homebirth Crisis in NYC

  1. Thanks so much for all of your vigilance with all of the events yesterday. This post is such a valuable “round up” of resources- thank you! It is unbelievably sad and crazy that we have come to this point especially in NYC. I do have to say, though, that the grassroots outreach has been heart warming and I feel so lucky to be part of such an engaged, smart and passionate group of activists that are making a tremendous difference in the world for mamas, families and babies. Keep up the fight and thank you again.

    • Well, I can’t help but take it very personally. It offends me on such a deep level that my own midwife can not legally practice as of today. A midwife with amazing skill and the statistics and history to reflect it.

  2. Ricki and Abby did a post:

    Save Home Birth in New York! Call to Action! (http://www.mybestbirth.com/profiles/blogs/save-home-birth-in-new-york)– My Best Birth

    We’re all taking it pretty personally too– midwives, aspiring midwives, mamas, papas, babies, midwifery consumers.

  3. While I’m not a homebirth midwife (I work in a hospital), we did receive a call last night from a potentially stranded homebirth midwife who was trying to figure out what hospital to transfer her client to. It was done via a friend-of-a-friend, so I’m not sure how the actual birth turned out, but I’m assuming everything went well in the end, because they never actually come to our hospital (and I am hoping they didn’t have to go to a hospital, period).

    It’s a terrible situation to be in right now, and I can only imagine how difficult this is for all of the families who were planning homebirths with their midwives in the months to come. I do know that the homebirth midwives of NYC are incredibly resourceful, and I have already heard about some new written practice agreements being put in place with other attending physicians at other hospitals, like LICH. Let’s hope all the necessary paperwork gets sorted soon, so these homebirthers will have a friendly hospital to go to if they need to (although, of course, here’s to hoping that everything will go smoothly at home, and they won’t need to transfer at all).

    Thanks for compiling all of these links!

  4. Pingback: An Update: Homebirth in NYC (Temporarily) Illegal After Today « Parenting Poppy

  5. Pingback: Excellent Article on the NY Homebirth Crisis in the Guardian (UK) « Parenting Poppy

  6. Pingback: Support from Speaker Quinn « Parenting Poppy

Leave a Reply

